English 8 Week 2 – About Me

Assignment: Choose the topic of one of the mind maps from this week and write a two-page essay. Use the mind map as your guide in writing.

    This week I was given four different topics to write an essay on: my best friend, my house, myself, or my favorite sport or game. I have chosen to write about myself, because I am very cool and interesting to read about. (This essay was written in 2021, so much information will soon be different).

    To start off describing myself, I will give some basic information. My name is Musa Hussain, which you probably already know if you are reading this on my WordPress blog. I am a male, a Muslim, and American. Now for my appearance, I am 5’6″ tall, 13.5 years old (March 7, 2008), and I weigh 115 lb. I have black hair, darker brown eyes, and white skin.

    Now that I have described my appearance, I will cover my hobbies. One of my favorite things to do is bicycle riding. I like to ride my bike around the neighborhood, exploring new areas and roads and sometimes using Google Maps to find my way to nearby places. Similarly, I love walking. It is a good alternative to biking if I am traveling with my family, and my favorite walks are hikes with friends. I also have some skill in computer programming, I know how to write in Java and C#, and I know how to make video games and websites. And my last hobby besides chess or studying is making videos. I like to record with friends, create special effects, and upload them to YouTube.

    I am a homeschooled student and study on the Ron Paul Curriculum. I personally enjoy studying and schoolwork, especially math. Other than RPC I only go to co-ops every few years. I am in 8th grade after completing 6th grade twice. And to end it off, I want to talk about my friends and family. I have two sisters and one brother, and I live with my parents and grandma. I do not have a lot of friends, but I talk to kids I meet when I go out and hang out with my father’s friends’ kids sometimes. But those are all the friends I hang out with.

     I asked some of my friends to summarize my personalities for this conclusion, and they said I am funny, a good friend, enthusiastic, easy going, a little tall, and slightly annoying—And I couldn’t have put it better than that.

Published by musah08

I love basketball, swimming, Minecraft, video editing, website or game programming, and creating YouTube and WordPress content. I am 14 years old, since I was born on March 7th, 2008.

11 thoughts on “English 8 Week 2 – About Me

  1. Thank you for sharing all about you Musa! I love this topic. You have always been such a wonderful friend and very funny! I love that you see yourself like that! Be conscious of “showing, not telling” in your writing. Move away from “I am going to tell you” and get right to the telling. It separates mature writers from emerging writers. You are definitely a mature writer and can use strong introductions instead.

    This week I was given four different topics to write an essay on: my best friend, my house, myself, or my favorite sport or game. I have chosen to write about myself, because I am very cool and interesting to read about. (This essay was written in 2021, so much information will soon be different).

    To start off describing myself, I will give some basic information (a reminder – in writing, do not say “I will…” instead just say it. For example, not “to start off describing myself, I will give,” but instead “I have a distinct look” or “There are many characteristics that you will notice in my appearance…”). My name is Musa Hussain, which you probably already know if you are reading this on my WordPress blog. I am a male, a Muslim, and American. Now for my appearance, I am 5’6″ tall, 13.5 years old (March 7, 2008), and I weigh 115 lb. I have black hair, darker brown eyes, and white skin.

    Now that I have described my appearance, I will cover my hobbies (a stronger introduction to this paragraph by “showing, not telling” would be “When you see me, you may not be able to guess my favorite hobbies. One …) One of my favorite things to do is bicycle riding. I like to ride my bike around the neighborhood, exploring new areas and roads and sometimes using Google Maps to find my way to nearby places. Similarly, I love walking. It is a good alternative to biking(,) if I am traveling with my family(.) my favorite walks are hikes with friends. I also have some skill in computer programming(.) I know how to write in Java and C#, and I know how to make video games and websites. And my last hobby besides chess or studying (besides chess or studying implies that you have discussed those hobbies. You did not mention chess or studying, but could add them …”I have many more hobbies such as chess and studying, but another favorite is is making videos.) I like to record with friends, create special effects, and upload them to YouTube.

    I am a homeschooled student and study on the Ron Paul Curriculum (I LOVE this introduction sentence. You went right to the topic instead of telling us you would talk about the topic. Very good!). I personally enjoy studying and (doing- keep both as verbs) schoolwork, especially math. Other than RPC(,) I only go to co-ops every few years. I am in 8th grade(,) after completing 6th grade twice. to end it off, I want to talk about my friends and family (Get back to showing, not telling – “My family and friends are important to me.”). I have two sisters and one brother, and I live with my parents and grandma. I do not have a lot of friends, but I (like to) talk to kids I meet when I go out and hang out with my father’s friends’ kids sometimes. But those are all the friends I hang out with.

    I asked some of my friends to summarize my personalities for this conclusion, and they said I am funny, a good friend, enthusiastic, easy going, a little tall, and slightly annoying—And I couldn’t have put it better than that.
    (When asking those friends to describe my personality, they said…” is a bit stronger)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started